Meeting called to order at 2:02 p.m.

Roll call Cormia

Officers	Location
Voltaire Villanueva	4006
Patrick Morriss	4006
Ben Kaup	4006
Robert Cormia	4006
Senators by Division	
Apprenticeship	
Stephan Schnell	4006
BSS	
Brian Evans	4006
Mona Rawal	4006
Counseling	
Tracee Cunnngham	4006
Leticia Serna	4006
(Luis Carillo) proxy	
DRC/VRC/SRC	
Ana Maravilla	4006
Fine Arts & Communications	
Robert Hartwell	4006
Kate Jordahl	online
HSH	
Rachelle Campbell	4006
Frank Nicolli	4006
Kinesiology/Athletics	
Kelly Edwards	online
Katy Ripp	4006
LA	
Ulysses Acevedo	4006
Giraldez Betron	online
LRC	
Eric Reed	online
(Chriasanhyi Penate) proxy	
Destiny Rivera	online (on-campus)
STEM	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Zachary Cembellin	4006
Sara Cooper	4006
Professional Development Co	ordinator
Carolyn Holcroft	4006
Faculty Chair of COOL	

Allison Lenkei1.7 (on Lenk)3.7

e Chan	absent		
Kerri Ryer	absent		
FA Rep			
Jordana Griffiths			

Jordana Griffiths

Guests: Carolyn Brown, Fatima Jinnah, Kristina Whalen, Natalie Hansen, Nicole Nguyen, Racheal Sworsky, Rolando Robles Ramirez, Judy Walgren, Clifton Der Bing, and David Marasco guest 4006

## Adoption of the Agenda by consensus

**Public Comment:** Clifton **Der Bing** from mental health and wellness asked about becoming a voting member of Academic Senate

**Approval of the minutes from June 5, 2023** Sara Cooper, Rachelle Campbell, Stephan Schnell, Zachary Cembellin, and Patrick Moriss (not present at the June 5th meeting) abstained from the vote. Voltaire moved first and Alison Meezan second. The June 5th minutes were approved.

**Approval of the minutes from the July 18th** summer cabinet meeting Robert Hartwell moved to approve, Patrick Morris second, there were 10 in favor, 0 nay, and 8 abstained. The minutes were approved.

Voltaire announced we are here to welcome each other to the new academic year, and introduce both our new people and returning members. In order of introduction (4006).

Ben Kaupp, DRC, VP of curriculum, Tracee Conningham counseling, Voltaire Villanueva, counseling and Academic Senate president, Ana Maravill, Katy Ripp, kinesiology, Donna Griffiths (FA), Sara Cooper, biology, Rachelle Campbell, HSH, David Marasco, senator emeritus, (guest) Zach Cemeberlin Math, Michale Change business, P/T rep, Brian Evans, BSS, Mona Rawal, BSS, AllisonMeezan, COOL, Stacy Gleixner President's Cabinet, Robert Hartwell Music history, Judy Walgren (photography) Stephen Schmnell, Apprenticeship, Patrick Morriss, Math and Executive VP, Ulysses Acevedo (LA), Joshua Agupugo, ASFC rep, political science, Carolyn Holcroft Professional Development, (former AS president) Clifton Der Bing Psychological Services (wellness or wellbeing).

Voltaire commented we're a very diverse set of faculty, and individuals representing faculty and the College. He added that it's important to gather and represent various faculty and College perspectives. The Academic Senate may seem like a very serious body, but open communication is important. As members we have the responsibility of representing voices.

There was a brief break until 2:45 p.m. for socializing

**Consent calendar:** There were several changes, additions, and corrections to the consent calendar. These included changes to the curriculum committee and the addition of faculty to TRC.

Voltaire showed a modified document. Cyan colors are additions for this academic year, green is a new addition today (10/2/23)

Executive committee, college curriculum, COOL, Kyle Taylor was added to College Curriculum, Rachelle Campbell will only be on curriculum for fall. COOL is accurate. Voltaire commented that the PDL committee is quite active in fall, and is an online committee. Patrick also put in a plug for the PDL committee. Student grievance pool, Carolyn Holcroft added her name. TRCs were updated, some need an at-large faculty member and cannot meet until that position is filled. David Marasco is at large on Glenn Kurisu's TRC. Voltaire asked Kate Jordahl about the Photography faculty TRC. There are four TRCs without an at-large faculty. ASCCC liaisons: Carolyn will continue on as the OER liaison. There is a request from the Chancellor's office to add a CTE liaison. Stephen Schnell will consider the CTE liaison and will confirm with AS next week.

A motion was made to approve the consent calendar, first by Patrick Morris and second by Brian Evans, the motion passed unanimously. Robert Cormia, secretary-treasurer, will send out email notifications to faculty with the additions to the consent calendar.

## #9 Foothill College Mission Statement - Josh Pelletier

At the October 7th 2022 meeting of MIPC, a survey was developed to garner input for the College Mission Statement. Josh shared that mission statements should be brief, clear, true,