Foothill Academic Senate Minutes May 9, 2022

<u>Agenda</u>

1. Meeting called to order in Room 4006 (KCI) and Zoom at 2:03 p.m.

2. Roll call

*indicates attendance on Zoom

Executive Committee Jordan Fong Voltaire Villanueva Katy Ripp* **Extended Exec Committee** Officers: Kerri Ryer* Adrienne Hypolite* Kathryn Maurer (President) Kimberly Escamilla* Eric Kuehnl (VP Curriculum)* Ajani Byrd* Mary Thomas* Carolyn Holcroft Robert Cormia (Sec/Treas) Matthew Litrus* Fatai Heimuli* **Division Senators:** Mayra Palmerin-Aguilera John Fox* Alexis Aguilar* (absent) Kurt Hueg (absent) Brian Murphy* Milissa Carey* Guests David Marasco

Donna Frankel*

Ellen Judd

Frank Niccoli*

Owen Flannery*

Patricia Crespo-Martin*

Stephanie Chan*

Tracee Cunningham*

Clifton Der Bing

Susie Huerta

Lene Whitley-Putz

3. There was a minor change to the agenda, a request from ASFC to bring to the Academic Senate the nominations for faculty commencement speaker. Cormia first and Frankel second moved to accept the modification, the agenda as modified was approved by consensus.

The minutes from April 25th were approved by consensus (Ellen Judd first and Milissa Carey second).

4. Every 30 days the Academic Senate must have a reaffirmation of remote meetings under AB

Kerri shared that the first two questions are a starting point, and asked must a candidate have that experience, and what experiences might be important (for example, social justice)? Janie Garcia commented that these questions could be very helpful in the process of creating interview questions. Carolyn commented that just because a candidate had been a college clarify which qualities that brings, and we should be specific about that. Donna commented on the need for the President (candidate) to have made sound hiring decisions in the past. Kimberly commented that the questions as worded should be able (possible) to pull dif

Katy Ripp Х Stephanie Chan Χ Patricia Crespo-Martin Χ Kimberly Escamilla Χ Mary Thomas Χ Matthew Litrus Χ David Marasco Х Donna Frankel Χ Ellen Judd Х Fatai Heimuli Χ Adrienne Hypolite Χ John Fox Χ Carolyn Holcroft Χ Ajani Byrd abstain Kurt Hueg absent